Health Care Standards

Accreditation Canada (AC)’s programs assess organizations against standards developed by Health Standards Organization (HSO), International Standards Organization (ISO) and others.

These world-class standards enable organizations to provide the highest achievable quality for patients.

In most cases, the standards are designed in partnership with providers, patients and policy makers.


Types of standards

HSO Standards

  • For research, education or policy work
  • Published by HSO
  • Available on the HSO website

ISO Standards

  • For use by clients of AC Diagnostic and Medical Lab accreditation programs
  • Published by ISO
  • Available in the client portal or on the ISO website

AC Standards

  • For use by clients of AC assessment programs (such as Qmentum accreditation)
  • Published by AC
  • Available in the client portal or upon request

All standards

Below are the standards used in our programs.

Applicability varies by program and jurisdiction. As programs evolve, this list will change and may not always be 100% accurate. For specific questions relating to our standards, reach out to your Client Engagement Lead or fill out the form below.


  • Aboriginal Community Health and Wellness
  • Aboriginal Integrated Primary Care
  • Aboriginal Substance Misuse Services
  • Acquired Brain Injury Services
  • Ambulatory Care Services
  • Animal Health and Food Safety Services
  • Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) Standards for Clinical Services
  • Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) Standards for Laboratory Services
  • Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) Standards for Working with Third Party Donors
  • Biomedical Laboratory Services
  • Cancer Care
  • Case Management
  • Child, Youth and Family Services
  • Community-based Mental Health Services and Supports
  • Community Health Services
  • Correctional Services
  • Critical Care Services
  • Dental Services
  • Diagnostic Imaging
  • Emergency and Disaster Preparedness
  • Emergency Department
  • EMS and Inter-facility Transport
  • Global Health Care Services
  • Governance
  • Governance for Aboriginal Health Services
  • Health Care Staffing Services
  • Home Care Services
  • Hospice, Palliative, and End-of-Life Services
  • Independent Medical/Surgical Facilities
  • Infection Prevention and Control for Aboriginal Substance Misuse Services
  • Infection Prevention and Control Standards
  • Infection Prevention and Control Standards for Community-Based Organizations
  • Inpatient Services
  • Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
  • Leadership
  • Leadership for Aboriginal Health Services
  • Leadership Standards for Small, Community-Based Organizations
  • Long-Term Care Services
  • Managing Medications in Aboriginal Substance Misuse Services
  • Medical Imaging Centres
  • Medication Management
  • Medication Management for Remote/Isolated Health Services
  • Medication Management Standards for Community-Based Organizations
  • Mental Health Services
  • Obstetrics Services
  • Organ and Tissue Donation Standards for Deceased Donors
  • Organ and Tissue Transplant Standards
  • Organ Donation Standards for Living Donors
  • Perioperative Services and Invasive Procedures
  • Point-of-Care Testing
  • Population Health and Wellness
  • Primary Care Services
  • Primary Care Services for Standalone Clinics
  • Provincial Correctional Health Services Standards
  • Public Health Services
  • Rehabilitation Services
  • Remote/Isolated Health Services
  • Reprocessing and Sterilization of Reusable Medical Devices
  • Reprocessing of Reusable Medical Devices
  • Residential Homes for Seniors
  • Spinal Cord Injury Acute Services
  • Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation Services
  • Substance Abuse and Problem Gambling
  • Telehealth
  • Transfusion Services
  • Trauma Centre Standards
  • ISO 15189:2012 Medical laboratories — Requirements for quality and competence
  • ISO 15190:2020 Medical laboratories — Requirements for safety
  • ISO 22870:2016 Point-of-care Testing (POCT) — Requirements for Quality and Competence
  • CSA Z314.8-14 Decontamination of reusable medical devices
  • Standards for Provision of Echocardiography in Ontario

Request sample standards

Are you considering one of our programs and would like to review the standards before joining?

Fill out the form below to request sample standards, indicating which standard(s) you are interested in.

Note: A nominal fee may apply.