Notice of intent to revise standard: Developmental Disabilities Services

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Accreditation Canada is revising the standard for Developmental Disabilities Services and convening a Standard Technical Committee.

Developmental disabilities can affect cognitive, behavioural, or psychosocial functioning. The Developmental Disabilities Services Standard addresses various types of developmental disabilities including:

  • Pervasive Developmental Disorders
  • Intellectual Disability
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Fetal Alcohol Syndrome

The organizations that will use this revised standard provide programs and services for children, youths, and adults with developmental disabilities, as well as their families, across the continuum of community services. A diverse range of community services is needed to maximize the quality of life for people with developmental disabilities including:

  • Prevention
  • Early identification
  • Education
  • Developmental skill building
  • Behaviour management
  • Social, vocational, housing, and residential supports

Supporting standard development

Organizations interested in supporting the development of this standard or wanting to be consulted as a stakeholder during the development process are welcome to contact us at

We encourage patients, providers, health leaders, and members of the public to provide comments through stakeholder organizations.